Categories
miniatures painting wargaming

Paint What You Got

The Paint what you got challenge caught my eye so these almost one year old primed figures were finally hauled over the line….

Once again I have belatedly found a painting challenge. This one by Dave Stone started at Christmas and is about getting stuck into your figures backlog – assuming you have one?

This is my first contribution.

15th regiment

These figures were prepped and on painting sticks on the 10th January 2023 according to my painting journal. A year in production is not uncommon in the Erratics world. I had made more progress by November with the main colours done when I stopped all existing production to do some new acquisitions!!!!!

Finally I have finished them complete with gaming bases.

For many years I did not record my painting activity or maybe kept random notes until with lockdown I decided to consolidate my notes and eventually opted for a handwritten journal. It has stood the test of time and has repaid the effort as I have added duplicate figures and simply dug out the recorded paint guide.

These figures are Hat 1/72 World War One German Infantry who have simply been given a paint job. I decided the boot detail was fine at even close distance. This then magically turned them into the 7th and 15th Landwehr Regiments of 1848 who marched into the First Schlieswig Holstein War.

7th regiment

The bases use my standard technique taken from Warhammer Ancient Battles – birdcage grit on PVA followed by Burnt Sienna, an Ochre dry brush and a yellow white highlighter. I then use a Javis mid green turf to finish. Bases are from pendraken.

Cockades were popular

The figures are based on 4 No. 40mm square bases which allow me to use a variety of wargame rules.

In line for a variety of rules

The flag is from Warflag (They are certainly worth a donation or a few) and I have opted for plain flower arranging wire flagpoles with the paper flags glued to recycled covid testing sticks – the hollow sticks fit the wire just right. I am still deciding on how to arrange them – whether to give them caps to set them at the height I want. Right now they just drop onto the figure.

Ok so pistols were only just arriving in 1848 but I like the figure as is…

The only difference between regiments is in the shoulder strap colours. The 7th are yellow while the 15th are light blue.

My reference book is Ralph weavers armies of the first Schleswig Holstein war 1848-1851 published by partizan.

Brilliant guide by Ralph weaver

You can also see a glaring mistake – one base incomplete with only two figures. Quite simply back in 2023 I managed to miscount the figures being put on sticks and never checked again until basing them! This was a puzzle as I used all 48 figures from one box to paint 4No. 12 man units……

Oops one of my men went missing

So that journal will repay itself again as I paint that missing figure – when I find it!

5 replies on “Paint What You Got”

Great looking unit Lorenzo, I hadn’t actually noticed the missing man until you pointed it out ! LOL just goes to show the rest of the unit made up for the missing man.

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.